Note: This is a spoiler-free review!! Even if you haven’t read any/all of the books in the Throne of Glass series, you can read this review without being spoiled for the series.

 

I am definitely behind on finishing this book, even though I had bought it right when it came out and was insanely excited to read it. Now that I have graduated college, I finally had time to read it, and it was amazing.

Starting this series years ago, I never would have thought the Throne of Glass series would expand as much as it has. This series is categorized as a Young Adult (YA) series, but there are many elements that are much more mature and can be appreciated by an older audience. There is plenty of world-building and character and plot development, but not to the exhaustive level of George R. R. Martin’s novels, so this series is a really great introduction into the high-fantasy genre.

The action throughout this book, along with many plot twists and surprises, kept me wrapped up in this world even when I wasn’t reading. When I sat down to read it, I was always glued to the pages for solid chunks of time. With short chapters, it’s easy to keep telling myself “Just one more chapter” instead of taking a break to eat or sleep.

Sarah J. Maas’ writing in itself is captivating and flows well, without being difficult to read or pay attention to the plot while appreciating the writing. There are so many quotes I flagged while reading that really stand out to me, and there is a good amount of humor scattered throughout to break up the tension.

I am very excited for the next book in this series, which is not yet titled, scheduled for release in fall of this year.

In other exciting Sarah J. Maas news, the sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses — A Court of Mist and Fury — has its cover reveal tomorrow! I am ecstatic to get my hands on this book when it comes out on May 3.

2 thoughts on “Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

