Graphic Novel Recommendations

It’s no secret that I love graphic novels. I review many of them, and I love being able to be completely immersed in a story through the words and the images working together. I am always amazed at an author and/or illustrator being able to combine two of my favorite art forms to create an entire world and plot. I’ve had a few requests to make a recommendation post of graphic novels, so here it is! I also have a Goodreads shelf for all of the graphic novels/comics I’ve read.

Ghost World by Daniel Clowes

ghost_world

Since I first found Ghost World at the library when I was in high school, it has been my favorite graphic novel. Daniel Clowes writes average days of a normal “weirdo” who doesn’t really care for the majority of anything. It’s a really great book for anyone who is somewhat of an outsider, which is probably why it spoke to me so well in high school. Even re-reading it during and after college, I relate to the main character, Enid, and I’m sure many people of different backgrounds can find some part of her to relate to.

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

nimona_final

There was a lot of hype around this graphic novel last year, and I finally read it after Ashley strongly recommended it to me. It was so good, and it definitely earned all of the hype surrounding it! It’s a unique fantasy read surrounding two villains rather than the hero. Nimona is an incredibly lovable character (even if she wouldn’t like to think so). It’s a cute read, but it will also suck you into the story.

Fun Home by Alison Bechdel

51c4ojju2byl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

This was a book I had to read for a text and image class in college, and it was one I didn’t even mind having to buy for the course. Fun Home is more of a serious read, compared to other graphic novels (such as Nimona), as it’s an autobiography of Alison Bechdel’s relationship with her late father and related aspects of her life. It’s an interesting family life to read about, and Bechdel’s art style is both detailed and simplistic, which makes each page more to look at rather than just moving the story along.

Persepolis (1&2) by Marjane Satrapi

persepolis-books1and2-covers

These two novels are also serious autobiographical reads, and definitely should be read by everyone no matter what. They present a viewpoint that many people don’t ever get to see or even think of, especially by those living in the US. The first book is a coming-of-age graphic novel, with the unique aspect being that it follows a young girl in Iran during the Islamic revolution, and the second is a continuation of Satrapi’s life after growing up away from home (following her moving away at the end of the first book).

Blankets by Craig Thompson

blankets_cover

I just finished this book the other day, and you can read my review on it here. No surprise, this is another autobiographical, coming-of-age graphic novel with more serious tones. I didn’t realize how many of these kinds of graphic novels I read until I started writing this post, but there’s a reason for that. They’re easy to relate to, and it’s always interesting to read about other people’s lives, especially if there are images to accompany the story.

Other Honorable Mentions:

Legacy by Tobey Truestory – If you’re interested in fantasy, dystopian, or scifi

The Sandman series by Neil Gaiman – If you’re interested in fantasy and/or horror

Locke & Key series by Joel Hill – If you’re interested in horror

Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened by Allie Brosh – If you’re interested in autobiographies and/or comedy

Have you read any of these graphic novels? Have any to recommend to me? Feel free to add me and discuss with me on my various social media accounts: GoodreadsInstagram,  Twitter, and Facebook!

One thought on “Graphic Novel Recommendations

  1. Blankets is one of my absolute favorite books– I read it years ago when I was a freshman in college, I devoured it. Fun Home & Ghost World, I haven’t read yet, but they’re on my list. Great recommendations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

