This was a children’s book I found at one of my local thrift stores, and I knew I had to buy it the moment I saw it. Not only is it a mermaid book (which I’ve always been a sucker for), but it’s published by The Feminist Press and the cover artwork is absolutely stunning. After finishing this short, quick read, I’m so glad I decided to pick it up.

The Mer-Child is a short story about the son of a human and a mermaid, and his friendship with a girl who is paralyzed from the waist down. They’re both outcasts, yet they fit with each other and no longer feel so alone in their worlds. It’s a sweet, sad, inspiring story, and I loved every page.

Robin Morgan is amazing in her descriptions of the characters and scenery, and she uses vivid imagery full of vibrant colors and flowing language that paints a beautiful image in my head just like a gorgeous watercolor. I could say that this was my favorite aspect of this book, but it gets even better.

The girl who lives on land is obviously disabled, as she is paralyzed and cannot walk, and she also has darker skin and thick curly hair (as seen on the book cover in addition to her description in the story), which is a character one does not get to read about often enough. This book teaches a good lesson to children (and adults!) not to judge or bully someone who is different from oneself or others.

The book goes even further in its good causes and messages in pointing out how humans treat the oceans and the impact that we have, because we all need to be much more aware of that. A quote I loved so much from this book is: “Was it possible, then, for humans to cause such a catastrophe undersea and remain completely unaffected themselves, on land?”

There are so many more things throughout the entirety of this book that are strong messages for both children and adults, and I definitely recommend it to everyone. This is another book that’s a quick read, but it will make you think, and I really encourage you all to go out and read it.

You can purchase this book on Amazon here.

Rating: 5/5 stars

Feel free to add me on my various social media accounts to keep updated on what I’m reading: GoodreadsInstagramTwitter, and Facebook!

2 thoughts on “The Mer-Child by Robin Morgan

Leave a Reply

