I’m so excited to finally be writing and posting my review of Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare. This was one of my most anticipated releases of 2016, and it did not let me down.

I have been a fan of Cassandra Clare’s writing since 2010 when I first read City of Bones. When I found out that she was releasing another spin-off series, I couldn’t wait (despite some readers thinking it was redundant for Clare to write another series in the Shadowhunters world). I bought this book the morning of its release, and once I had it in my hands, I couldn’t stop staring at how gorgeous it is (not to mention that Target had signed copies!).

When I began reading, I noticed that each chapter was a phrase from “Annabel Lee” by Edgar Allan Poe. I made an audible squeal of excitement, because that is my favorite poem of all time. I won’t spoil anything, but to have a book/series that involves this poem makes it even better.

The writing is like all other Cassandra Clare books, very fast-paced and exciting with great descriptions. There are sarcastic and witty characters, but in a different way than Jace from The Mortal Instruments is, so it doesn’t seem like just another TMI book with different names. Emma has her own unique, strong personality that I enjoyed, and her interactions with Christina were some of my favorite small moments. There weren’t any main characters who annoyed me or frustrated me, which is important to determine how much I enjoy a book. It has taken me a bit of time to finish this book, but only because I wanted to make it last since I know it’s going to be awhile before the second book comes out. I didn’t want this book to end because it was so engrossing.

To anyone wondering, it is possible to read this new series without having read previous Shadowhunter series, but I would recommend reading those first so you understand the references made to those series. One of my favorite things about this world is how it’s all connected.

If you haven’t picked up a Cassandra Clare book, please head over to your bookshelf or nearest bookstore and pick one up. They’re fast, entertaining reads that will really suck you into their world.

Rating: 5/5 stars

Feel free to add me on my various social media accounts to keep updated on what I’m reading: GoodreadsInstagramTwitter, and Facebook!

2 thoughts on “Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

