The Girl Who Owned a City is originally a novel published in 1975 by O.T. Nelson, and this review is about (solely) the graphic novel adaptation by Dan Jolley and Joelle Jones (illustrator). I really enjoyed this adaptation, and it does make me want to read the original novel (which, I think, a good graphic novel adaptation should do). This is a book that can be read in one sitting, even with one taking time appreciating the artwork and thinking more about the storyline.

In this book, a plague has killed the majority of the population, but only affected those older than 12 years. With all of the adults in the world gone, children are left to fend for themselves with no power, food supply, or much knowledge of survival. Lisa and Todd are siblings who have figured out the best way to scavenge for food and tools, which leads them to be targeted by a gang of starving children in their town.

The story concept of the disappearance of all adults isn’t a new one, but I enjoyed the way this graphic novel played out. It wasn’t predictable to me, and it was interesting as a type of dystopian plot. I really liked the art style of the whole novel, especially how the characters were drawn. I think this story, especially through the character of Lisa, teaches a good lesson to any reader about kindness and how their own actions and words appear to other people. I wasn’t sure how I would like this while reading the first few pages, but as I got more invested in the story and characters I enjoyed it a lot. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys dystopian or sci-fi-type reads, no matter what their age.

Rating: 4/5 stars

Feel free to add me on my various social media accounts to keep updated on what I’m reading:Β Goodreads,Β Instagram,Β Twitter, andΒ Facebook!

2 thoughts on “The Girl Who Owned a City (Graphic Novel) by O.T. Nelson, adapted by Dan Jolley

Leave a Reply

