It’s obvious that I love comics and graphic novels, as well as female-driven plot lines, so it’s no surprise that I’ve been wanting to pick up Rat Queens for a long time now. I am so glad I finally did.

The first volume of Rat Queens (including issues one through five) has everything I was wanting: diversity, strong females, girl gangs, an interesting plot, and a unique story encompassing all of that. The Rat Queens gang includes Betty (a tiny Smidgen with a big personality), Hannah (a magical badass), Violet (an insanely awesome fighter who pulls through it all), and Dee (a magical goddess who is the heart of the group). I personally relate to Betty, as I am also a tiny, blonde one who loves candy. The whole group of women is filled with sass and unrelenting love for each other, and it’s definitely the kind of girl gang I want to read about.

The entire world built within this comic series is awesome, as it’s filled with magic and many fantastical elements while also featuring more than one group of mercenaries. Each character is unique with their own personality, and even characters who have smaller parts (so far, anyway) are diverse and interesting. I want to find out more about so many of these characters’ backstories, and I can’t wait to start the second volume of this series right away. The interactions between the Rat Queens is hilarious and heart-warming, and I love literally every single one of them.

The plot of this series so far is different from other fantasy series I have read, and I flew through this volume, not getting bored at all and constantly wanting to find out more. The art style is gorgeous, and if you love fantasy artwork, you should definitely check out this series.

This is a rated-mature comic series, which looks to me to be due to language, violence/gore, and adult themes. That being said, if none of those things bother you, definitely go pick up this series! I absolutely love the combination of fantasy and comedy, complete with kickass female mercenaries who have a lot of sass.

Rating: 5/5 stars

Feel free to add me on my various social media accounts to keep updated on what I’m reading: GoodreadsInstagramTwitter, and Facebook!

5 thoughts on “Rat Queens, Vol. 1: Sass and Sorcery by Kurtis J. Wiebe & Roc Upchurch

    1. Yes! If you liked this and haven’t read Lumberjanes yet, you should definitely check that one out too! That’s quickly become one of my favorite graphic novel/comics series too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

