I hadn’t originally planned on writing a review for this short comic book featuring Darth Maul, but about halfway through, I knew I needed to write one. I loved this one! Sometimes, Star Wars EU can be disappointing, but this one exceeded my expectations.

This story takes place after Maul’s supposed death, which shows that he did in fact survive being cut in half (one of the most iconic scenes in The Phantom Menace) and has gained robotic legs. He has teamed up with his brother for revenge against the galaxy, and it’s very obvious that Darth Sidious was his Sith teacher, as Maul continuously tells others to channel their anger and hate into their thirst for vengeance through violence. I was so happy to see how Maul became a more developed character, yet still stayed true to the badass villain we witnessed in his short time in the first prequel film. Darth Maul has always been a favorite villain of mine, mostly for how interesting he is, and I was glad to see more of him.

The plotline of this book was interesting as well, and being a standalone (not one in a series of comics for this single plotline), it was still complex and developed enough to be really intriguing. There is a woman of color Jedi Master as a main character and I was really excited to see this, and we even are introduced to an entirely new species that I have not seen previously in the Star Wars universe.

Overall, this was a very quick read, but I really enjoyed every second of it. It surprised me because I liked it so much more than I thought I would, but I wouldn’t want it any other way. This is a great comic book for Star Wars fans of all ages, especially those who can see reflections of things from the films, such as Darth Sidious’ teachings shown through Maul.

May the fourth be with you!

Rating: 5/5 stars

Feel free to add me on my various social media accounts to keep updated on what I’m reading: GoodreadsInstagramTwitter, and Facebook!

2 thoughts on “Star Wars: Darth Maul: Death Sentence by Tom Taylor & Bruno Redondo

Leave a Reply

