Note: ARC Kindle copy provided by the author through Netgalley for an honest review.

Wow. It’s hard to think of a good way to start this review. This book was definitely a journey, not only for Max, but for me as well. The Yoga of Max’s Discontent was previously published in India and was a bestseller, so I knew it had to be a good book before I even started. I’ve been trying to find more diverse books to read, and this novel definitely gave me insight into the lives and religions of yogis in India, something that I honestly had no previous knowledge of.

At first, I was annoyed with Max after he decided to leave his high-paying job, his loving sister, and a good life after getting out of the projects of his childhood to try to become a mountain-living yogi. Especially being a college graduate and trying and trying to find a full-time job, seeing Max wanting to throw that away kind of angered me. Throughout the novel, there were times I was still unsure as to the point, the reason why that life was not good enough for him. And yet another part of me could understand that pitting feeling of not being content with life, of feeling like there has to be something more.

That understanding kept me reading. I was curious as to where Max would end up, and I wanted to know his next steps in his journey to the infinite. There were definitely a few parts of this book that made me remember to live in the moment and not constantly anticipate the next thing. Kara Bajaj’s writing was beautiful; the imagery was vivid in my mind and it was more like experiencing the novel rather than reading it.

By the end of the novel, my frustration with Max had dissipated, and I realized that his behavior was probably supposed to frustrate and confuse me earlier in the book. I don’t want to spoil the ending or anything, so I will leave you with this: the ending pulled the whole book together, and all I could think was, Wow. I was overwhelmed and blissful and satisfied and happy for Max, and the wild ride of this novel is definitely one that everyone should experience.

Rating: 4/5 stars

Feel free to add me on my various social media accounts to keep updated on what I’m reading: GoodreadsInstagramTwitter, and Facebook!

 

6 thoughts on “The Yoga of Max’s Discontent by Karan Bajaj

  1. I’m so glad I found this review! I recently highlighted this book in my blog as a novel to watch this summer, so I’m glad you enjoyed it.
    You’re really teasing us about the ending! I should be able to get around to buying and reading this book sometime this summer. Thanks for keeping my excitement alive. 🙂

    Like

    1. Great! And yes, that was the plan! I didn’t want to spoil the ending; I want everyone to go read the book!

      Like

Leave a Reply

