I’m sitting outside on a beautiful, sunny afternoon just after finishing A Court of Mist and Fury, which is my favorite environment to finish an amazing book in. A year ago, I devoured and fell in love with A Court of Thorns and Roses, and Sarah J. Maas has wowed me once again.

With each book Maas writes, her skill becomes even stronger, and each new book amazes me just a bit more than the last. I absolutely cannot wait to see where her writing goes in a career standpoint, in addition to the stories she is telling through it.

Being a sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses, I had expectations, hopes, and personal ships for this book, and it went beyond what I ever would’ve expected a year ago. Last year, I was a diehard Tamlin/Feyre fan, yet as I read more and more into A Court of Mist and Fury, I found myself shifting my views just as much as the character dynamics and personalities shifted from page to page. By the middle of the book, I knew I needed Rhysand and Feyre to be together, and to avoid spoilers, I will leave it at that.

Feyre grew into her new Fae skin in this novel, and amazed me with how powerful and determined she became. Though she loves strongly, and still dearly misses her sisters, she is completely independent if she knows she has to be. She will let others in, but she knows she needs to depend on herself first and foremost, which is something I’ve personally grown to find out over the years. Through the shift in characters and relationships in this book, I saw many reflections to my own life, and maybe that’s one reason why I love it so much. I’m in a very different place than I was when I read A Court of Thorns and Roses last year, and my life has changed as Feyre’s has (though not as fantastical; I assure you I would have an even bigger change if I’d become a new species myself). Because of that, I was sucked in even deeper.

Speaking more generally, this novel will definitely appeal to many ages who have not had personal similarities as I’ve mentioned. And speaking of ages of readers, this is not really a Young Adult book. I am all for reading whatever you want at whatever age you personally deem acceptable, but A Court of Mist and Fury does contain mature content (and is most likely directed towards an audience in their twenties, rather than teenagers). The love scenes that Maas writes are beautiful, though, and never cringe-worthy in their wording regarding cheesiness or clichés. If you are a writer or reader who has even thought about putting a physical scene into words, you know this is a feat in itself.

There were still so many twists and so much action throughout this book, and I absolutely cannot wait until the next book in this series. Each chapter made me want to keep reading, yet I didn’t want it to ever end. I’m extremely impressed yet again by Maas’ writing, and excited by the possibility of what is to come.

Rating: ★★★★★

Feel free to add me on my various social media accounts to keep updated on what I’m reading: GoodreadsInstagramTwitter, and Facebook!

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

