I finally had money to treat myself to some Harley Quinn comics (yay birthdays), and so reviews of the second and third volumes of The New 52 Harley Quinn series are probably coming up as well. I had previously read the first two issues of this first volume as single issues, but reread them when I read this volume.

It’s not a secret that I love Harley Quinn as a character, and I was really hoping I wouldn’t be disappointed with this volume as a whole. Thankfully, I thoroughly enjoyed it. The writers kept Harley true to her character, as a crazy yet charming lover of animals and sweets.

The overall plot of this volume is Harley moving to a new city as a fresh start. Among introducing new characters (who I fell in love with as well), Poison Ivy plays a huge role in Harley’s life in this volume. Shortly into her new adventure, she discovers that an unknown person has placed a huge bounty on her head, and she has to fend off bounty hunters throughout the volume, in addition to finding out who set the bounty in the first place. She also rescues hoards of cats, dogs, and other pets, which I really enjoyed. The addition of loved animals to any storyline makes me happy.

I’m excited to read the second volume, and am really glad I can read it right away. I’m not too sure of where the storyline is going, but that’s honestly a fun part of this series. Each individual issue has its own adventure, and I loved seeing how they all tied together as a whole. I definitely recommend this if you’re a fan of Harley Quinn, or want to branch out from superhero comics.

Rating: ★★★★★

Feel free to add me on my various social media accounts to keep updated on what I’m reading: GoodreadsInstagramTwitter, and Facebook!

2 thoughts on “Harley Quinn, Vol 1: Hot in the City

Leave a Reply

