To start, I’m sorry for my extended absence here; I’ve had huge life changes in the past month (all good things!) and have been unable to read too much lately. I forgot to post an October wrap-up, so I will combine it with my November wrap-up at the end of this month.

I received the ARC of Gemina, the sequel to Illuminae, at BookCon this past May when I went to Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff’s booth signing. I’ve been currently reading it for a bit, solely because of previously mentioned life changes. Since I got the chance to read again, I finished the rest of it within a day. This review will be spoiler-free for this book, but there may be spoilers if you haven’t read Illuminae yet. 

Overall, I absolutely loved this book. I loved Illuminae and was curious as to how this sequel would play out knowing that it focused on different main characters than the first book did. The format of the book is the same as Illuminae, being a mix of audio and video transcriptions, journal entries, and instant messages between characters. I have always loved this kind of storytelling, and it works so well with the plot of this series.

Though there are new main characters as the focus of this book, I fell for them just like how I fell for Kady and Ezra. They’re unique in their personalities, and the character of Ella is especially my favorite. The characters’ interactions have humor, and it’s definitely used to lighten the heavy situations they get sucked into later on.

Gemina focuses on another aspect of the madness that occurs in Illuminae, and it’s really interesting to see how it plays into what has previously happened. The entire situation is a gigantic mess, and it incorporates even more huge concepts and theories that still fit in the plot. Kaufman and Kristoff have done an amazing job connecting the stories and characters while not making it seem forced at all. There were so many plot twists that I never saw coming, and I spent a good amount of time asking myself what was going on. I got answers to my questions, though, and am so excited to see how this all plays out in the next installment.

One thing I am unable to comment on are the illustrations throughout, since the ARC does not have any final artwork in it. I definitely want to look at them in a finished copy, and I can imagine that they’d only add great things to the storyline as a whole.

If you haven’t read Illuminae yet and you love sci-fi and abstract concepts, you need to start this series. Gemina is now released, and they’re quick reads, which are great for marathoning.

Rating: ★★★★★

Feel free to add me on my various social media accounts to keep updated on what I’m reading: GoodreadsInstagramTwitter, and Facebook!

2 thoughts on “Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Leave a Reply

