From a Buick 8 is not a favorite for many King fans, and I can understand and respect that, but I did enjoy this book. I listened to it on audiobook, which I’m glad I did. It’s one with a very conversational feel, especially since the whole story is first-person narration and mainly a group of people sat down telling a story to someone.

I had no idea what to expect when going into this book, and I’m glad it was that way. Because of this, I’m going to try not to give too many details about the book, in case you haven’t read it yet.

Though the plot and its smaller details may seem somewhat thrown together for some readers, I felt that it worked for what the book was overall about—a mysterious car that isn’t a car. I enjoyed the small details about what came out of the Buick 8, and if you read it, you’ll see what I mean by that. It isn’t called From a Buick 8  for no reason.

Some parts of this book felt repetitive, but I suppose that’s to be expected from a recalling of events by a group of people. I know there were a lot of issues people had with this book, especially seen in Goodreads reviews, but as I’m sat writing this thinking about the book and the listening experience, I can’t think of any huge issues I had with it. I suppose my big takeaway is that I’m glad I listened to it rather than read it. The narrators added more to it, and furthered the book’s point on it being about the characters and their responses rather than the events themselves.

Possible/very slight spoiler: If you enjoy books about other dimensions and/or worlds, this would be a good read for you. I love the Cthulhu mythos and other multi-dimension theories, so I loved that aspect most about this book. A lot of this book is about how our world gets affected by the existence and doorway of that other place, and I thought it was an interesting take on the concept.

Rating: ★★★☆☆

Feel free to add me on my various social media accounts to keep updated on what I’m reading: GoodreadsInstagramTwitter, and Facebook!

One thought on “From a Buick 8 by Stephen King

Leave a Reply

