Note: This book was sent to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

This book is a did-not-finish. I can’t finish this book. And this review is going to be painfully honest as I explain why.

This book was a bit hyped when it came out, as the author sent it to a good number of book-Instagrammers (bookstagrammers) about a year ago. I waited for the hype to die down to read it, and it did give me a clear mind for my own opinions on it. Unfortunately, I can’t find a reason to finish this. I lent it to my mom a few months ago, and she read it then. After describing the trouble I was having getting through it, she justified my opinions. She didn’t want to sway my own reading/review of it at the time, but she didn’t care for it either. I got about halfway through this book, and I don’t want to read any more of it.

I wanted to like this book. The main character, Amy, is interesting, except that the story turns and she doesn’t seem to be the main character anymore. The focus turns to Cameron, a coworker of Amy’s. I didn’t originally have an issue with him, but as the story progressed, his character/personality changed and it seemed like the author decided to change him later on with no development suggesting such a change. Cameron acted strange at times and it didn’t make sense; any person (especially one working in crime-solving) would not have acted how he did when the focus turns.

Along the same lines of character personality, these characters were so trope-y. Vince especially bugged the hell out of me, as he was the stereotypical dimwitted dude who always tried to be funny, and amped up to the nth degree. I couldn’t stand him, and by putting down this book, I am getting him out of my mind forever.

This book plot-wise got more and more unrealistic, and for a book that started out (and was marketed as) more realistic crime fiction, it just got weird. I kept getting the feeling that the author was changing his mind while writing, or thinking of a new plot device and putting it in.

In addition to all of this, there were grammar and spelling mistakes. I’ve mentioned how being an editor really makes these stand out to me and how distracting they can be. If a book is really good, I can get over it (especially if they’re far and few between). But this book wasn’t good at all, and the mistakes were the thing that were the last spark.

Overall, as I felt bad about how I felt about this book, I read some other reviews and realized I’m not the only one. After talking with my mom (who did finish the book), I knew I had to just put it down for good. The author has not been active online since early 2016, so I wonder if he’s moved on (Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook). And now that this review is written, I can move on as well.

Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Sorry for such a downer review, but my next review will be for The Waste Lands (Dark Tower #3) by Stephen King, and I loved it, so it’ll be much more positive!

Feel free to add me on my various social media accounts to keep updated on what I’m reading: GoodreadsInstagramTwitter, and Facebook!

One thought on “Mind Games by TJ Moore (DNF)

Leave a Reply

