Wow. This was a really good graphic novel. I went into it not really knowing anything about it, and I’m so glad for that. This will be a spoiler-free review because I don’t want to ruin any reading experience.

For such a short graphic novel, the character development is really good, and I truly felt for each of the characters. I especially sympathized with Diane, as I went through similar friend troubles with a former best friend of mine in high school. Each of these kids has a backstory and also the front they’ve put on around the other kids in this makeshift group. There’s always tension, and it’s uncomfortable and real. It doesn’t feel forced whatsoever, and the focus of this group is what makes the later events so surprising.

There is a plot twist that I never saw coming, and I literally gasped out loud. I don’t want to spoil it, so I’ll just say that it gave me a lot of sudden feelings and the ending definitely left me feeling unsettled, as I’m sure it must have intended.

I have seen this compared to Stand by Me/”The Body” in other reviews that I’ve glanced at, but I haven’t read/seen that yet, so I can’t talk about that comparison.

Rating: ★★★★★

Feel free to add me on my various social media accounts to keep updated on what I’m reading: GoodreadsInstagramTwitter, and Facebook!

 

 

One thought on “Plutona by Jeff Lemire, Emi Lenox, & Jordie Bellaire

Leave a Reply

